16 SUSD students named finalists in the 2016 National Merit Scholarship

Sixteen Scottsdale Unified School District students have been notified that they were one of approximately 15,000 finalists in the 61st annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

High school principals were notified and provided with a certificate to present to each finalist.

Students who became finalists will be considered for National Merit Scholarships, according to a press release. Approximately half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship and earn the Merit Scholar title.

The following Scottsdale Unified School District students were named finalists for 2016:

  • Chaparral High School: Max Bartlett, Casey Fraser, Amalia Frohna, Jamie German, Allison Jorden, Sophia Struckman, Brynne Whitaker
  • Desert Mountain High School: Brian J. Acosta, Rachel S. DeStigter, Austin K. Fairbanks, Michael D. Goldstein, Ricardo A. Iglesias, Michael C. Johnson, Caroline M. Kireopoulos, Amanda Taylor Melin
  • Saguaro High School: Noah Silver

To be considered for a National Merit Scholarship award, finalists must fulfill several requirements. The names of scholarship winners will be released in a series of National Merit announcements between April and July, the release stated.

The Scottsdale Independent is published monthly and mailed to 75,000 homes and businesses in Scottsdale.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.