2016 Arizona Teacher of the Year, Ambassadors of Excellence introduced

Christine Marsh (photo by SUSD)

Christine Marsh (photo by SUSD)

The Arizona Educational Foundation introduces Christine Marsh, an 11th and 12th grade Advanced Placement English teacher at Chaparral High School of the Scottsdale Unified School District as this year’s 2016 AEF Arizona Teacher of the Year.

Ms. Marsh was awarded this title at the annual Teacher of the Year Awards Luncheon held at The Arizona Biltmore before more than 600 attendees, including Arizona educators, elected officials and business leaders, in mid-November 2015, according to a press release.

The annual Teacher of the Year program is the premier event of the Arizona Educational Foundation, a statewide nonprofit organization that promotes and awards the efforts being made in Arizona public schools.

As AEF Arizona Teacher of the Year, Ms. Marsh will have the opportunity to meet President Barack Obama, compete for the title of National Teacher of the Year, and attend international space camp in Huntsville, Ala.

Additionally, AEF named its four Teacher of the Year finalists, called “Ambassadors for Excellence,” who will serve with Ms. Marsh as spokespersons for their profession, advocating for excellence in the classroom by making presentations statewide to education, civic, government and professional organizations. Speaking or appearance requests of any of these top teachers can be made through this form, the release stated.

The four 2016 Ambassadors for Excellence are:

  • Jennifer Anglin, eighth grade English teacher at Flowing Wells Junior High School of Flowing Wells Unified School District;
  • Angelia Ebner, fifth grade teacher at Maricopa Elementary School of Maricopa Unified School District;
  • Beth Snyder, sixth grade science teacher at Akimel A-al Middle School of Kyrene School District;
  • Mike Vargas, freshman physics teacher at Pinnacle High School of Paradise Valley Unified School District.

The AEF Arizona Teacher of the Year program is the only statewide program that spotlights the contributions of Arizona’s public school teachers.

These top teachers will be featured in the upcoming events listed below:

  • College Football Playoffs Extra Yard for Teachers Summit | Jan. 9
  • College Football Playoffs Game | Jan. 11
  • Arizona PBS 30-minute Arizona Teacher of the Year Special | 9 p.m. on Jan. 29
  • Polly Rosenbaum Writing Contest Award Ceremony | Feb. 13
  • Coyotes Education Night | March 5
  • Arizona State Spelling Bee | March 19
  • There’s a Reason I’m a Teacher Conference at Northern Arizona University | April 1

The Scottsdale Independent publishes a free daily newsletter. A print edition is mailed to 75,000 homes and businesses each month. If you value our journalistic mission, please consider showing us your support.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable. Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the arrow in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment