Scottsdale students receive distinction for National Merit testing

Twenty-two seniors who attend Scottsdale Unified School District high schools have been named Semifinalists in the 62nd annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

The students became semifinalists by taking the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test last October. About 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools nationwide took the test, which served as an initial screening of program entrants, according to a press release.

Additionally, 63 other SUSD seniors have received Letters of Commendation from the National Merit Scholarship Program in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. These students also took the PSAT/NMSQT in October 2015.

“We are gratified that these outstanding Scottsdale students are being recognized for the hard work they are investing in their high school careers,” said Dr. Steve Nance, SUSD assistant superintendent of Educational Services, in the release. “It is a privilege for our teachers and schools to play an integral role in student success, now and in the future.”

The following Scottsdale Unified School District students have been named Semifinalists for 2017 National Merit Scholarships:

Arcadia High School

  • Eleanor Jo, Camryn Lizik

Chaparral High School

  • Benjamin Buzas, Ari Cohen, Savannah Crichton, Anna Hostal, Robin Kuo, Emma Mones, Kendrick Nguyen, Alekhya Reddy

Desert Mountain High School

  • Karishma Albal, Jaimee Andreotti, Jake Ausdemore, Nicholas Basch, Jordyn Blew, Wesley Jung, Cleo Payne, Pranav Rudra, Aakanksha Saxena, Megan Seifert, Laura Tutelman

Saguaro High School

  • Cameron Whyte

These 22 SUSD students are among 16,000 academically talented students nationwide who will now have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million that will be offered next spring, the release stated.

Finalists will be announced in February 2017.  Winners will be announced in four parts, beginning in April 2017. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than one percent of all U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. Arizona has 284 semifinalists this year.

The following SUSD students have been received Letters of Commendation from the National Merit Scholarship Program:

Arcadia High School

  • Lily Baye-Wallace, Kyle Durchslag, Sheldon Meyer, Elise Mulligan, Luis Prieto Alvarez, Abraham Rez

Chaparral High School

  • Peter Adler, Noah Berger, Eric Bryan, Anna Lee Cook, Ian Gordon, Gerold Kaplan, Amy Kent, Bailey Kroop, David Lustgarten, Maia Nagle, Kyler Novotny, Reese Pettyford, Lauren Prince, Jacob Ref, Sydney Rummel, Gabriella Sarussi, Levi Schulman, Emma Segneri, Taylor Sender, Ryley Sigmon, Nathan Wolin

Coronado High School

  • Christopher Ramirez

Desert Mountain High School

  • Steven Adelberg, Kyle Ashworth, Marni Balamut, Tingting Bi, Drew Chickering, Kasey Cretors, Lucas Cruz, Matthew Cummings, Adelina Effendi, Alyssa Ferrell, Grace Gay, Jacob Hotz, Vanessa Johnson, Nancy Li, Julia Mars, Aamena Mookadam, Ryder Moreno, Akshar Pandia, Anjali Ramohalli, Danya Schaefer, Caroline Shi, Maya Shrikant, Elise Spivey, William Stahlschmidt, Sydney Wickman, Zachary Yang, Frances Yau, Tracy Zhang

Saguaro High School

  • Jason Do, Seong-Chan Lim, Michael Pickett, Charles Robson, Grace Sluga, Nicole Varda, Cameron Young

Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, some of these students become candidates for special scholarships sponsored by the organization’s business sponsors in the spring and summer of 2017.

The Scottsdale Independent publishes a free daily newsletter. A print edition is mailed to 75,000 homes and businesses each month. If you value our journalistic mission, please consider showing us your support.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable. Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the arrow in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment