Twenty-eight Scottsdale students named as National Merit finalists

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced the names of approximately 15,000 finalists in the 60th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Twenty-eight students from the Scottsdale Unified School District were among those finalists.

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for approximately 7,600 National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $33 million, that will be offered next spring.

To be considered for a National Merit Scholarship award, finalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition.

About 90 percent of the semifinalists were expected to attain finalist standing, and approximately half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship and earn the Merit Scholar title. The scholarship winners will be announced by July 2015.

The following SUSD students were named finalists for 2015 National Merit Scholarships:

Chaparral High School

  • Heidi Artigue
  • Taylor Barbera
  • Arshan Barzani
  • Aaron Blecker
  • Samuel Deadrick
  • Elizabeth Dries
  • Emma He
  • Maia Lopes-Gilbert
  • Megan Mann
  • Cameron McAllister
  • Jacob Sheptin
  • Andrew Stachel
  • Dylan Treger
  • Henry Zeng

Desert Mountain High School

  • David Adelberg
  • Micaela Brewington
  • Jennifer Cummings
  • Khang Dao
  • Naveen Dasari
  • Ariel Goldfine
  • Prathima Harve
  • Jeewon Park
  • Laura Vargas
  • Samantha Waslewski

Saguaro High School

  • Jontito Casalena
  • Grayson Meadows
  • Neej Patel
  • Harrison Whyte

The Scottsdale Independent publishes a free daily newsletter. A print edition is mailed to 75,000 homes and businesses each month. If you value our journalistic mission, please consider showing us your support.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable. Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the arrow in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment