Twenty-eight SUSD students named finalists in National Merit Scholarship Program

Twenty-eight students from the Scottsdale Unified School District were among approximately 15,000 finalists in the 60th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for approximately 7,600 National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $33 million, that will be offered next spring.

Students from Chaparral High School are: Heidi Artigue, Taylor Barbera, Arshan Barzani, Aaron Blecker, Samuel Deadrick, Elizabeth Dries, Emma He, Maia Lopes-Gilbert, Megan Mann, Cameron McAllister, Jacob Sheptin, Andrew Stachel, Dylan Treger and Henry Zeng.

Students from Desert Mountain High School are: David Adelberg, Micaela Brewington, Jennifer Cummings, Khang Dao, Naveen Dasari, Ariel Goldfine, Prathima Harve, Jeewon Park, Laura Vargas and Samantha Waslewski.

Students from Saguaro High School are: Jontito Casalena, Grayson Meadows, Neej Patel and Harrison Whyte.

To be considered for a National Merit Scholarship award, finalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the semifinalists were expected to attainfFinalist standing, and approximately half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship and earn the Merit Scholar title.

The scholarship winners will be announced by July 2015.

The Scottsdale Independent publishes a free daily newsletter. A print edition is mailed to 75,000 homes and businesses each month. If you value our journalistic mission, please consider showing us your support.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable. Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the arrow in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment