Comedy actor David Koechner to host Rocky Mountain Emmys

David Koechner. (Submitted photo)

David Koechner. (Submitted photo)

The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences is pleased to announce it has tapped actor, writer and producer David Koechner – best known for his roles as Todd Packer on “The Office” and Champ Kind from “Anchorman” – to host the 2015 Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards.

The awards are to take place Saturday, Oct. 17, at Talking Stick Resort in Scottsdale. Tickets, which start at $100 for individual seating and $1100 for tables of 10, are available at Sponsorships are also available, according to a press release.

An alumnus of Chicago’s Second City Theater, Mr. Koechner got his first break as a cast member on “Saturday Night Live” and since has become an instantly recognizable face appearing in more than 130 films and television shows, according to the release.

Additional notable film credits include “Waiting,” “Out Cold,” “Talladega Nights,” “Get Smart,” “Extract,” “Thank You for Smoking” and “A Haunted House.” When not filming, Mr. Koechner performs live stand-up comedy across the country and creates original content videos for his YouTube channel, “Full On Koechner.”

“Each year we strive to make the event a night to remember for the hardworking members of our media community. The addition of a celebrity host, the amazing Talking Stick Resort venue and other exciting details provide this year’s attendees with the opportunity to celebrate the excellent, impactful work being created in our region – and have some fun,” stated Suzanne Guery, Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter second vice-president and event chairman, in the release.

During the 2015 event, Emmy Awards will be awarded in more than 90 television, production and creative communications categories. The full list of 2015 nominees will be announced live on Thursday, Sept. 10 during simultaneous Rocky Mountain Emmy nominations parties in five cities within our region, according to the release.

All of the parties will take place from 6 to 8 p.m. The events are free, and the entire media and communications community is welcome to attend. The parties are to be at:

  • Albuquerque
    • Chama River Brewing Company
    • 4939 Pan American West Fwy NE
  • Flagstaff
    • Bigfoot BBQ
    • 120 N. Leroux, In the Old Town Shops
  • Phoenix
    • Aunt Chilada’s
    • 7373 North Dreamy Draw Drive
  • Salt Lake City
    • TBD
  • Tucson
    • Sullivan’s Steakhouse
    • 1785 E. River Road

“The Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards is not a competition in the traditional sense. Entries do not compete against each other. Rather, each is judged individually on its own merit against a standard of excellence,” stated Theresa Maher, president of the Rocky Mountain Southwest chapter of NATAS, in the release. “There is no greater honor the Chapter can bestow on its members. The Emmy statuette symbolizes the excellence for which we all strive.”

The Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards will also induct new members of the Silver and Gold Circle Societies, respectively, during the evening, the release stated.

The 2015 Silver Circle recipients being honored are:

  • Ron Hoon, Fox10, Phoenix
  • Jude LaCava, Fox10, Phoenix
  • Carey Olson, (Retired) KRQE Albuquerque
  • Mark Reda, Fox Sports Arizona, Phoenix
  • Donna Rossi, CBS5 KPHO, Phoenix
  • Abbie Smith, The List, Phoenix

The chapter established its Silver Circle Society in 1992. To be eligible for the Silver Circle honor, individuals must have served in the broadcast industry for a minimum of 25 years with the majority being in our chapter’s region, and have significantly contributed to our industry and community, stated the release. Nominations are accepted from broadcast journalism, talent, creative, technical, administrative, as well as TV commercial production and TV education.

The 2015 Gold Circle recipient being honored is:

  • Bill Miller, Magic Dust Television, Phoenix

To be eligible for the Gold Circle, individuals must have served in the industry for a minimum of 50 years, and significantly contributed to the field and/or community within the same categories as the silver circle. The Gold Circle Society was established in 2005, according to the release.

Each year, the chapter also looks to recognize an entity for going above and beyond its telecommunications mission with the Governors’ Award. Past recipients have ranged from technical innovations to public service programs. This year, “Read Today” and “Hooked” will share the honor of the 2015 Governor’s Award.

“Read Today” is a massive literacy campaign headed by KSL in Salt Lake City and is credited with raising reading scores at schools across the state. The “Hooked” project is joint partnership between the Arizona Broadcasters Association and Cronkite News, the News Division of Arizona PBS at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism including a documentary about the heroin epidemic in Arizona and associated community outreach.

For more information about the Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards or to purchase tickets, visit

The Scottsdale Independent publishes a free daily newsletter. A print edition is mailed to 75,000 homes and businesses each month. If you value our journalistic mission, please consider showing us your support.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable. Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the arrow in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment