More than 30 summer concerts announced at Phoenix museum

0415nv TraceBundy JPEG

Musician Trace Bundy will be performing on Saturday, May 23. (Submitted Photo)

More than thirty new concerts from May through August have just been announced at the Musical Instrument Museum, 4725 E. Mayo Boulevard in Phoenix.

These concerts feature award-winning singer-songwriters, acclaimed jazz musicians, and a diverse group of artists from around the world. Rhiannon Giddens will headline a concert on Thursday, May 7, to celebrate the release of her new album, backed by her bandmates from the Grammy Award-winning Carolina Chocolate Drops.

The Brubeck Brothers (Submitted photo)

The Brubeck Brothers (Submitted photo)

Acoustic guitarist Trace Bundy will perform on Saturday, May 23, and country-swing act Asleep at the Wheel will take the stage on Monday, May 25.

Jazz fans can look forward to the return of Brubeck Brothers on Friday, June 5; bass guitarist Marcus Miller and his band on Tuesday, June 9; and George Brooks & Bombay Jazz featuring Larry Coryell on Friday, August 7.

Global acts include the rock stars of West Africa’s Tal National on Friday, May 1; the Iranian American band Niyaz on Tuesday, May 26; the Irish American band Solas on Thursday, June 4; Nigerian musician King Sunny Adé on Monday, June 15; and Brazilian guitarists the Assad Brothers with Romero Lubambo on Sunday, June 21.

The full schedule can be viewed at http://mimmusictheater.themim.org.

Circle of Friends donors can purchase tickets starting at 6 p.m. on Wednesday, April 8, either at the preview event or by calling 480-478-6000. Circle of Friends donors who give $500 or more annually are eligible for 10 percent off of concert tickets.

Tickets will go on sale to the public at 10 a.m. on Friday, April 10, and can be purchased online, by phone, or at MIM’s Ticket Office at that time.

The Scottsdale Independent is published monthly and mailed to 75,000 homes and businesses in Scottsdale.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable. Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the arrow in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment