Top players to play in Waste Management Phoenix Open field

TPC Scottsdale plays host to the Waste Management Phoenix Open each year. (Submitted Photo)

Top-ranked players Keegan Bradley, Kevin Kisner and Emiliano Grillo are among the final players to commit to play in the 2019 Waste Management Phoenix Open set, which began Monday, Jan. 28 at TPC Scottsdale.

Daniel Berger and Steve Stricker also committed to the field, while PGA TOUR veteran and six-time TOUR winner Bill Haas received the fourth of five available sponsor exemptions for the 2019 tournament, according to a press release.

Mr. Bradley is coming off a strong 2018 campaign in which he carded five top-10 finishes and secured his fourth PGA Tour victory at the 2018 BMW Championship.

His win at the BMW catapulted him from No. 52 in the FedExCup standings to No. 6, earning him a spot in the Tour Championship for the first time since 2013, eventually finishing eighth after a T26 finish in the final event of the season.

He has notched three Ryder Cup appearances for the U.S. team (2012, 2014, 2016) serving as a captain’s pick for the 2016 event.

A two-time PGA TOUR winner, Mr. Kinser had a solid 2018 wrap-around season making 18 cuts in 25 starts with four top-10 finishes including a tied for second at the 2018 Open Championship — his best finish in a Major.

Argentina native Mr. Grillo won his first PGA Tour event his rookie professional season in 2016 at the Open, besting Kevin Na in a playoff.

He carded six top-10 finishes in 2018, the best of which was third-place finishes in the Houston Open and Fort Worth Invitational leading to a No. 32 spot in the final FedExCup standings.

Mr. Haas has accumulated six PGA TOUR wins in his 13-year professional career including the 2013 AT&T National, the 2015 Humana Challenge and the 2011 Tour Championship. He also was a member of the victorious United States Presidents Cup teams in 2011, 2013 and 2015.

The previous three exemptions went to Oklahoma State All-American Matthew Wolfe and former WM Phoenix Open champions Aaron Baddeley and Hunter Mahan.

The field for the tournament is nearly set as one sponsor exemption and three qualifying spots are still up for grabs.

A field of 132 players will vie for the $7.1 million purse, the $1,278,000 first-place check and 500 FedExCup points.
PGA TOUR members had until 5 p.m. Eastern Standard Time to commit to play in the Waste Management Phoenix Open. Eligible players are assigned one of 34 PGA TOUR priority ranking categories based on their past performance on TOUR.

Non-committed players participating in the Farmers Insurance Open have a half-hour from the end of second round play to commit. In addition, any previously uncommitted players placing in the Top-10 at the Farmers Insurance Open also can commit to play Sunday evening.

“As always we have a top-notch field and we’re excited to welcome this group of past champions, Ryder Cup favorites, Major winners and the next group of up-and-coming PGA TOUR stars to play in ‘The People’s Open’,” Chance Cozby, tournament chairman, said in a prepared statement.

“Nearly half of the Top-50 golfers in the world are coming to our event, which is really special and something we’re tremendously proud of.”

The 2019 field includes 23 of the Top-50 players in the Official World Golf Ranking, a release states.
Justin Thomas is the highest-ranked player in the field, which features four of the top-10 and 10 of the top-25 in the OWGR.

Other ranked players in the field include Xander Schauffele, Jon Rahm, Tony Finau, Rickie Fowler, Bubba Watson, Webb Simpson, Alex Noran, Matt Kuchar, Gary Woodland, Phil Mickelson, Cameron Smith, Tyrrell Hatton, Hideki Matsuyama, Kyle Stanley, Billy Horschel, Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Andrew Putnam, Brandt Snedeker and Satoshi Kodaira.

The field includes 11 players who have combined to win 18 Major championships including Mr. Mickelson, Zach Johnson, Martin Kaymer, Mr. Watson, Mr. Bradley, Stewart Cink, Lucas Glover, Justin Thomas, Charl Schwartzel, Mr. Simpson and Jimmy Walker.

The 2019 field also has eight former WM Phoenix Open champions including Mr. Woodland, Mr. Matsuyama, Mr. Mickelson, Kyle Stanley, Hunter Mahan, Kenny Perry, J.B. Holmes and Aaron Baddeley.

The Scottsdale Independent publishes a free daily newsletter. A print edition is mailed to 75,000 homes and businesses each month. If you value our journalistic mission, please consider showing us your support.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable. Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the arrow in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment