MASK announces nominees for ‘Moms Making a Difference’ Award

MASK (Mothers Awareness on School-age Kids) knows there are many moms in the community who are making a difference in the lives of children and families every day, and they intend to acknowledge and honor them.

This year, over 40 inspiring women were nominated for MASK’s 5th Annual “Moms Making a Difference” Unity Award.

All the  inspiring women will be honored and recognized at the Unity Award Luncheon to be held at Thursday, March 3, at the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess.

Since December, votes have been cast for nominees. MASK recently revealed the top 15 “Moms Making a Difference” Unity Award nominees for 2016:

Cori Alberdi
Girls Golf of Phoenix
Jennifer Blalock
Cochise Elementary Kindergarten Teacher
Shannon Carpenter
Refugee Focus
Traci Estenson
East Valley Women’s League The Cinderella Affair
Danna Evans
All Things EQ: The Discovery of You
Angie Geren
Addiction Haven
Jami Goldman-Marseilles
Challenged Athletes Foundation
Candice Imwalle
Author, Sir Morgan and the Kingdom of Horrible Food
Jenifer Kasten
Decoding Dyslexia-AZ
Jane McCann
Mindfulness First
Michelle Moore-Fanger
Mother’s Grace
Holly Rose
Don’t Be a Chump! Check For a Lump!
Kristen Sandquist
K2 Adventure Foundation
Kimberly Vehon
Foster Arizona
Kandi Young
Dedicated, Inspiring Mom

The 2016 Unity Award recipient will be announced at the luncheon, and her story and cause will be featured in the “Moms Making a Difference” section of the 2016 summer issue of MASK The Magazine.

Voting will remain open for the Top 15 nominees until Feb. 29.  To learn more about the worthy nominees and to vote for the Top 15 visit

MASK also looks forward to honoring the following nominees at the 2016 Unity Award Luncheon:

Stacey Beck
Laurie Bennett
Scottsdale Parenting Group, LLC
Shireen Eddleblute
Cocopah Middle School Life Skills Program Volunteer
Jody Farley-Berens
Singleton Moms
Dr. Morgan Francis
PCS and Village Health Club
Stacy Fretheim
Wellington-Alexander Center
Stefanie Beeth, Stacey Krolak, Tish Times, Amy Winski, Girls Rule Foundation
Heather Grossman
Heather’s Haven of Hope
Kim Brubeck Herold
Jill Hicks
WESD Director of Community Engagement
Dawn Hopkins
The Center for Living Well
Catherine Jensen, Elizabeth Kuehn, Leslie Quinn, Amber Sainz, Intel Southwest-Finance CPR: Care Providers Resource
Joanne Jolee
The Jolee-Jaffa Music Foundation
Angela Marie Lee, Guadalupe Pollack,
Running River School
Devi Orlandella-Manton
Sarah Pacheco
Peach’s Pantry
Sheri Pierce
Houston Elementary School-Gilbert Dedicated Teacher
Dr. Cristina Romero-Bosch
Women’s & Children’s Health
Julie Sartor
Extreme Foster Mom
Melissa (Misty) Thompson
Mom of 22
Janet Weninger
Childhelp National Volunteer Coordinator

To purchase tickets to the Unity Award Luncheon visit


The Scottsdale Independent publishes a free daily newsletter. A print edition is mailed to 75,000 homes and businesses each month. If you value our journalistic mission, please consider showing us your support.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable. Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the arrow in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment