Scottsdale Charros host 31st annual students, educators award banquet

The Scottsdale Charros will honor the 2017 Scottsdale Unified School District Outstanding Students and Educators, Scottsdale Community College Educator of the Year, and The Charro Foundation scholarship and fellowship recipients this week.

Honorees will be celebrated during the Scottsdale Charros 31st annual Outstanding Students and Educators Awards Banquet on Friday, April 28.

The awards banquet will be held at the new Mountain Shadows Resort, 5445 E. Lincoln Dr., in Paradise Valley.

The event’s keynote speaker is Marshall Trimble, Arizona’s official state historian, according to a press release. Also speaking during the event are Dr. Denise Birdwell, SUSD Superintendent and Grand Canyon University students.

“The education process can, at times, be tedious, overwhelming and challenging. The very dynamic of the journey can present hurdles that seem too high and unattainable,” said Charros Education Chair Rick Carpinelli, in the press release.

“The entire populous of SUSD proves daily, weekly and annually that with set goals, focused efforts and teamwork all hurdles are manageable. It is always a pleasure to celebrate the greatness of SUSD.”

During the awards banquet, the following outstanding educators and students will be honored.

Elementary Outstanding Educators:

Kerry Jameson, Anasazi; Carrie Robinson, Cherokee; Colleen Taylor, Cochise; Melinda Chapman, Desert Canyon; Kathleen Repp, Hohokam; Livia Rice, Hopi; Casey Nosky, Kiva; Brian Vogan, Laguna; Amy Altieri, Navajo; Alex Poole, Pima; Inma Gabriele, Pueblo; Danette Imafidon, Redfield; Kathryn Holmes, Sequoya; Sharon Nelson, Tavan; Victoria Acton, Yavapai; Jennifer Rhodes, Arcadia; Patrick McGinty, Arcadia; Heather Glover, Cheyenne; Karen Wevursky, Cheyenne; Nanette Hubbell, Copper Ridge; Jill Gerding, Copper Ridge; Lisa Achtzehn, Tonalea; Emma Miranda, Tonalea

Middle School Outstanding Educators:

Maureen Brown, Cocopah; Angela Bogsinske, Desert Canyon; Kevin Mauser, Ingleside; Gayle Myzwinski, Mohave; Ashley Bahling, Mountainside

High School Outstanding Educators:

Richard Maxwell, Arcadia; Lori Jordan, Chaparral; Schultz Bennett, Coronado; Tyler Knox, Desert Mountain; Caryn Bird, Saguaro

Outstanding High School Students:

Camryn Lizik, Arcadia; Keaton McDonald, Arcadia; Bailey Kroop, Chaparral; Levi Schulman, Chaparral; Marisela Arias, Coronado; Christopher Ramirez, Coronado; Kristen Matta, Desert Mountain; Wesley Jung, Desert Mountain; Virenzyth Fedora, Saguaro; Simon Ortiz, Saguaro

Arthur W. DeCabooter Educator of the Year:

Beth Viquesney, Scottsdale Community College

Scottsdale Community College Scholarship:

Paloma Miranda, Arcadia High School

The Charro Foundation Education Scholarship:

Aimee Yates, Hohokam Traditional School

Alexandra Mooney

Future Teacher Scholarship: 

Alexandra Mooney, Coronado High School

Ms. Mooney, Coronado High School senior and future teacher scholarship recipient, will receive a $5,000 renewable scholarship that will pay for her education degree at Arizona State University, the press release stated.

“I’ve just felt 100 pounds lighter just knowing that now, I can start preparing for my classes and getting excited about college without money being a distractor,” said Ms. Mooney in the press release.

For more information about the Outstanding Students and Educators Awards Banquet, visit or call 480-990-2977.

The Scottsdale Independent publishes a free daily newsletter. A print edition is mailed to 75,000 homes and businesses each month. If you value our journalistic mission, please consider showing us your support.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable. Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the arrow in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment