National Football Foundation honors top AZ football coaches, players

The Valley of the Sun Chapter of the National Football Foundation will pay tribute to this year’s state championship Coaches, 1A – 6A, and recognize several of Arizona’s top senior players with Legends Namesake Awards.

All-time winningest high school coach, topping 332 victories,  Paul Moro of Marcos de Niza, will be the recipient of the Earl Putman Coach of the Year Award.

The 24th Annual Awards Luncheon we will be hosted at the Hilton-Scottsdale Resort on Friday, Dec. 16, 2016.

Open to the public, tickets and additional information are available on the chapter website:

The Legends’ Namesake awards are presented to the top senior player in the State at his position:

  • Curley Culp Defensive Lineman AwardAndrew Nichols, Centennial High School
  • Frank Kush Offensive Lineman AwardAustin Jackson, North Canyon High School
  • Ron Pritchard Linebacker AwardBrandt Casey, Saguaro High School
  • Danny White Quarterback AwardChase Cord, Sunrise Mountain High School
  • Mike Haynes Defensive Back AwardIsaiah Pola-Mao, Mountain Point High School
  • Archie Amerson Running Back AwardT.J. Green, Chandler High School
  • Luis Zendejas Placekicker AwardBrandon Ruiz, Williams Field High School

The State’s Championship Coaches will be featured and honored:

  • 1A   Bagdad High School – Coach Dalton Mills
  • 2A   Thatcher High School – Coach Sean Hinton
  • 3A   American Leadership Academy – Coach Rich Edwards
  • 4A   Saguaro High School – Coach Jason Mohns  (4-pete)
  • 5A   Williams Field High School – Coach Steve Campbell
  • 6A   Chandler High School – Coach Shaun Aguano

The state’s universities will be represented by their coaches Jerome Souers (NAU), Todd Graham (ASU), Rich Rodriguez (UA), and Jeff Bowen (ACU).

The Master of Ceremonies will be NBC CH12-TV sportscaster Bruce Cooper, and sidekick Dan Manucci, of NBC 1060AM Radio – “The Roc & Manuch Show”. Dr. Harold Slemmer, executive director, will represent the AIA.

The Champions Luncheon Program is presented by the NFF Valley of the Sun Chapter with the continuing sponsorship of the Sheriff’s Youth Assistance Foundation. The Legends Awards are presented by Valle Luna Restaurants, Fiesta Bowl, Dr. Dan Lucas, Lerner & Rowe, Crescent Crown Distributing, Wells Fargo, Pepsi, and Arizona Central Credit Union.

The Scottsdale Independent is published monthly and mailed to 75,000 homes and businesses in Scottsdale.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.