Pinnacle’s Spencer Rattler among top quarterback award recipients

Pinnacle quarterback Spencer Rattler. (Submitted photo)

The National Quarterback Club announced the 2018 recipients of the 2018 National Quarterback of the Year Awards, which included Pinnacle High School’s Spencer Rattler.

The announcement came Saturday, Dec. 8 and also included Drew Brees of the New Orleans Saints; Jalen Hurts and Tua Tagovailoa of the University of Alabama; and Bo Nix of Pinson Valley High School in Birmingham, Alabama.

The athletes will be formally recognized at the National Quarterback Club Awards Dinner and Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch Saturday, Jan. 19, according to a press release.

Some of the greatest quarterbacks in the game have received the Quarterback of the Year Award, including Cale Gundy, winner of the 1989 high school honors; Carson Palmer and Vince Young, winners of the collegiate awards in 2002 and 2005; and John Elway, Brett Favre and Peyton Manning, each winners of the professional level award.

The National Quarterback Club Hall of Fame includes the likes of Roger Staubach, Otto Graham, Joe Theismann and many others.

The celebration gala will include the inductions of Jim McMahon and Danny White into the National Quarterback Hall of Fame, as well as Legacy Recognition Awards honoring Jim Kelly and the late Ken Stabler for their on-going contributions to their communities through the good works of their charitable foundations.

Proceeds will benefit Folds of Honor, Hunter’s Hope, Kelly for Kids Foundation, the National Football Foundation, the National Sports Foundation and XOXO Stabler Foundation, a release states.

Entertainment at the gala includes Nate Nathan and the MacDaddy-O’s, keynote speakers include Navy SEAL (Retired) Darren McBurnett and U.S. Army Major (Retired) Ed Pulido. Leticia Frye will act as the evening’s auctioneer.

The Scottsdale Independent publishes a free daily newsletter. A print edition is mailed to 75,000 homes and businesses each month. If you value our journalistic mission, please consider showing us your support.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable. Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the arrow in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment